No…not like car service maintenance. Weight maintenance.

When you lose weight it’s all nice and easy, you get a system down (counting calories, WW, whatever) and it (usually) just works, and the weight drops.  Sometimes slowly, other times quickly, now and then you hit a plateau, but it drops.

The other shoe drops when you try to move your way out of losing and into maintenance.

Let’s be honest, I didn’t get fat by accident. I got fat by eating. And not moving. Mostly eating though, as there have been many times over the last decade or so that I have been exercising at least 3 times a week and still gaining. That means I was over eating – by a lot.

So for the past while now I have been (somewhat inadvertently) not trying to lose weight. Or rather, my body has been fighting most of my attempts.  I mean, I know it’s mostly in my mind…I *think* I am hungrier than I am…but even my meaningful attempts to eat at a deficit have failed for the past few months.

What hasn’t failed is maintaining my weight loss. I have, for the most part, managed to maintain my weight loss within a few pounds. For the past week or so I haven’t weighed in because it was that time of the month and I had three occasions to eat out (3 course meals each time to boot!)…and so this morning I stood on the scale and…153.4lbs. That, ladies and gentlemen, is maintenance. And I love it.

So I have figured out that if I exercise 5-6 times a week and eat healthy most of the time, I can still eat out a bit while maintaining my weight. Awesome.

However, on February 22nd two huge things are going to happen that might help me start losing weight. Lent starts and I am giving up two things: all liquids save water, and no eating out at restaurants (or take out).  Those two things alone should help me lose about 10 pounds in 40 days! But til then, I am taking my maintenance and enjoying it! 🙂

