Even when I was a ‘runner’, I wasn’t really a runner. I mean, I never ran multiple runs in a week. Really, my knees couldn’t handle it. I was only ever a once-a-weeker kinda runner.  And now I run even less. And not nearly as far. And not nearly as fast.  But there is a huge difference now – I ONLY RUN WHEN I FEEL LIKE RUNNING.

Last night when I was doing hot yoga I suddenly had an urge to run. And so, the plan right now is to run. But at the same time, if I suddenly don’t feel like running, I won’t go. But I love that feeling of freedom. I can run if I want. I don’t have to worry too much about my pace, or how long I last (I can run 5k fairly easily now, although my pace has slowed from a below 6 minute k to an above 6 minute k).  It’s more about the sweat and the challenge and the release and leaving it on the treadmill and less about speed work and tempo runs and prepping for a race.

Let’s be honest, I was never really a runner. Not like Scott is (hey Scott, you read this more than Iron Man so I thought you deserved a shout out). But I do occasionally appreciate a good run, and I feel a sense of accomplishment from being able to crank out 5k without worrying about it too much. Obviously for many people (aka: runners) 5k is a joke. But for a girl who used to hate walking up the stairs – yeah, pretty nice feeling. 🙂

