So I like plans. I get stressed out when they get changed but I still like them. I like the structure. I feel like I need it. So I use them. I know some people hate plans, but for me they work.  And when they don’t work anymore, I change them.

So exercise is pretty important to me. I can genuinely say, after about a year of working out VERY regularly (at least 3 times a week, usually closer to 5 or 6 times a week) that when I don’t workout I am generally unhappy. Or rather, when I workout regularly, I am a happier, more balanced human-being. Even a day off can make a difference, and yet, I do recognize the need for rest days. My point is really just that without exercise Iron Man might leave me, not because I would be out of shape (he has loved me at least 25lbs heavier than I am now) but because I would be horrible to live with.

So, the plan…it’s a two week schedule and looks like this

  • Monday: Hot Yoga – Power Class
  • Tuesday: Rest Day
  • Wednesday: Personal Training – Cardio Strength Training and TRX
  • Thursday: Weights
  • Friday: Hot Yoga – Detox
  • Saturday: Body Attack
  • Sunday: Hot Yoga – Power Class
  • Monday: Body Attack
  • Tuesday: Rest Day
  • Wednesday: Hot Yoga – Vinyassa Flow
  • Thursday: Weight Training
  • Friday: Hot Yoga – Detox
  • Saturday: Body Attack
  • Sunday: Hot Yoga – Power Class

So, in a 14 day period that would be: one personal training session, two weight lifting sessions, three Body Attack classes and six hot yoga classes.  Also, for a month (starting in a week I think) we will be doing rock climbing twice a week too (Fridays and Sundays – so double workout days! Eek!).  Then, when that month is up, I am going to do about a month of Pole Dancing Fitness classes on my Rest Day (we will see how taxing the schedule is on my body.

That’s all fairly self explanatory…except for the weights.  I planned out a workout yesterday at the gym – it’s killer and takes a while but Iron Man’s workout takes him over an hour so that’s fine.  I tried to focus is on my ‘needs’, which are pretty much the back half of my body, as opposed to my front…my quads for example are really strong. Glutes and hammier – not so much.  Or my back. So here is what I have come up with.

Legs – deadlift, single leg romanian deadlift, wall squat

Back/Chest – push-ups (on toes), negative chin-up, , cable lat pulldown, low back extension

Arms – level incline rear felt row, rotator cuff/arnold press, twenty ones (bicep curls), triceps cable pulldowns

Abs – double crunches, toe touches, plank

 

So I did this routine yesterday and my body definitely felt it. My hammies hurt within a few hours (literally) and today my back is pretty much toast.  I am still really struggling to get my lats to take the brunt of anything – I feel almost everything in my upper and middle back along the length of my spine.  But other than that, really good, tough, workout.

 

I know my plan sets out some fairly high expectations in terms of how often I plan on working out. I am hoping to be able to keep up with it…only time will tell if I really can!

 

