On Tuesday night Iron Man asked me out on a date. My first thought was “Oh crap, that means good (not healthy) food”.  It’s kind of sad that my first thought was my diet. I hate that. So I decided that I wasn’t going to let it rule me. Yesterday I woke up and weighed in at 152.8lbs.  That’s down a lot of water/bloat/back to maintenance weight since the 1st of January. I figured I could afford to enjoy one nice dinner. And I did.

We went to Milestones. I ‘planned’ ahead but made changes along the way. I realized that my ‘healthiest possible options’ weren’t that much healthier than the things I really wanted. So we shared the deep fried shrimp instead of a caesar salad. I had one less than Iron Man – that was me showing moderation. And I had said no alcohol because it screws with my metabolism but I changed my mind on that too. We shared a bottle of wine (I think I had two glasses). Oh well, the anti-oxidants aren’t that bad for me. For the rest I stuck to my plan – butternut squash pasta for my main and we shared ‘the break-up tub’ of amazing ice-cream/chocolate cookie/caramel/cookie dough.

I woke up this morning at around 154 I think (?).  Whatever, that is still at least 3 pounds lighter than I was on Sunday morning. I will be good for the next two days to make up for it. We are out on Saturday night, which will mean showing some moderation again. And we all know how well I do with moderation.

Final word: Date nights are a mandatory aspect of married life. Diet or no diet, they need to fit in somewhere. Because I don’t want to be thin and single.

