I love Jesus. I do not love Christmas. I know this probably sounds odd, if not at odds, but the truth remains – I am not a huge fan of Christmas.

I am fairly certain at least some of my current feelings for this season are rooted in the passing of my mother 5 years ago, and Christmas being the next major holiday after her death, and the fact that she was the ‘bearer’ of our traditions. So that’s part of it.

The other part of it is that really, spending hundreds of dollars on presents and decorations and cards and wrapping and food and drink for parties – yeah, that’s not what Jesus had in mind when he came to town – it might be what Santa brings to town but Santa =/= Jesus.  Jesus wants us to care for those who are forgotten – the poor, the sick, the elderly…we don’t do that particularly well when we are busy buying diamond paveed gold hoop earrings at Coach. it’s horrible but true. It’s not that I don’t want to spoil my friends and family – I do. But I could do that in July too. Or March. Or September. And it doesn’t have to have anything to do with Jesus or his birth.

Mostly, I don’t like that for over a month it’s Christmas 24×7.  That’s it, just Christmas. Parties, cookie exchanges, sales, carols, etc…all day long. Today’s post was spurred on, unfortunately, by Christmas carols being played over the PA system at work before classes start. I sound like a scrooge, I know. But I don’t like carols and I don’t want to have to listen to them unless I choose to.  I already listened to them last night while we shopped for two hours, this morning all I want is peace.

I am secretly praying that I will have a better attitude toward it all once we have kids. But I am not convinced that will happen either.

