I love food. No, really, I do. It makes watching what I eat really tough to do, mostly because I like eating and I like eating a lot.

For most of 2011 I have been watching what I eat very strictly, counting calories and what not. It has definitely helped me to lose 25+lbs. But I still have about 15lbs left to lose. Unfortunately, my body seems to be done with eating in a deficit. I really only lasted about 3 weeks this round before I started cheating.  I only cheated in small ways but small cheats = less weight lost. So, right now I am sitting at around 155lbs. I want to be 140lbs but I think that it’s time to listen to my body. So, between now and Christmas my goal is maintenance – keep it between 153lbs and 157lbs.  When New Years arrives I will embark again on my weight-loss trek – but with only 15lbs to lose this time which is so much better than where I started last year. My goal for this year had been 150lbs but 155lbs is fine. My goal for next year is 140lbs but I think I will set it for June, which will give me about 5 months to lose 15lbs, nothing radical, 3lbs a month!

Eating in maintenance means good things though – in particular more energy for exercise. Today I ran! A slow 5k (at 32 minutes – 3 minutes off my best pace) but still, I haven’t run 5k in over a month so I am happy to take what I can get. Then I rowed 2k.  I think my new goal is to work up to 5k…but I digress, this post is supposed to be about food! Food does however let me train at a different level so while I will be eating more, I will also be able to push it harder at the gym, something I love to do!

On Monday this week we actually ignored the gym out of exhaustion and instead went out for dinner. I figure we go to the gym often enough that we can afford to skip a day and eat horribly fattening food instead (let’s be honest, Iron Man can afford this – me, not so much!).  So we went to Earl’s for dinner and rather than have a meal each, we shared a whole meal together. Iron Man had a beer – so that counted as ‘our’ drink – I had water (this is what I refer to as moderation, I really wanted wine).  Then, as our starter, we split an app – chicken tacos…

Then we shared a burger and fries (SO good)…

And then we shared gingerbread cake with ice cream…

All in all, an amazing meal!  But honestly, who would eat full versions of those plates (all my pictures were the half portions that they kindly provided for us) in one sitting? That would be ridiculous. I loved being able to have a three course meal without actually eating the calories for all three course (I am sure that with half portions I still ate way too many!).  Regardless…it was well worth every penny (and every calorie). I didn’t have to cook dinner AND Iron Man didn’t have to do the dishes. Win-win!

